Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

So it’s another snow day in Washington, D.C.! I haven’t left my place yet but from what I can tell from the windows, there’s a good 10-12 inches on the ground right now, which is A LOT for this area. As a native of this area, this winter has been especially rough… even though every once in a while we’ll get a “big” snowstorm like this, it’s generally preceded by relatively mild weather. But that’s clearly not the case this year – which has been exceptionally cold and snowy for the D.C. metro area.

While I’m (so!) ready for some warm weather, I’m happy to have a day off from school. In honor of this snow day, I’ve compiled a list of fun and yummy hot chocolate ideas to try out.

1) Cherry Vanilla Hot Chocolate: How delicious does this hot chocolate look? This recipe involves cherry liqueur but for those of you who are too young for alcohol (or prefer your hot chocolate without it), you can substitute grenadine instead. I found this awesome recipe on Shutterbean, so visit the site for step-by-step instructions on how to make it!

2) Nutella Hot Chocolate: I don’t know about you guys, but Nutella is one of my favorite things EVER. That stuff is amazing and I’m not ashamed to say that I’m known to sit around eating copious amounts of it straight from the jar (Because honestly, do you really need to eat it with anything else? It’s perfect on its own!). This hot chocolate is incredibly easy to make–all you need is some vanilla extract, milk, and nutella! I found this recipe on the Clara Persis blog.

3) Mexican Hot Chocolate: For those of you who are looking for a little spice, this is the perfect hot chocolate for you! This recipe features nutmeg, cinnamon, almond extract and allspice…and it’s completely delicious. For instructions on how to make this decadent hot chocolate, visit Andrew Zimmern’s website.

4) Coconut Hot Chocolate: How amazing and decadent does this hot chocolate look?! It reminds me of thick, sipping chocolate. Coconut fans can find this delicious recipe on the How Sweet It Is website.

What’s your favorite go-to warm beverage for the snowy, winter months?

